A Peep Thru the Pinhole

By Brian1943

Waste not!

This appeal to customers was just inside the entrance to Sainsbury's supermarket in Kidderminster. This is a noble sentiment, and one which I support wholeheartedly. There is indeed far too much food waste in our country, and doubtless all western countries. BUT .....

..... But why, therefore, does this supermarket (and others) not supply food packed in smaller amounts. Since my lovely wife Liz made her transition two years ago I have been, by definition, a widower; therefore I live on my own, and therefore I can't eat all the pre-packaged food before it goes off. Waste indeed!  For example - small salad potatoes, all sold in a large family-sized bag; cooked beetroot in packs of 4 to 6 and even uncooked beetroot tied in bunches of a similar number, ready-to-eat avocados in packs of two, smoked mackerel (which I love) in packs of three or four. And it goes on. And on ....  Hence unavoidable food waste. Dunnit make ya wanna cry!!!  (The freezer bags shown are a great idea - but my upright freezer is full already.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.