Fáinleog

No heatwave but hey, the rain stopped and a balmy and delightful 18C was reached. The washing, hanging in the polytunnel for what seems like millennia, is now dry. The last of the plums gathered in, apples, grapes and cranberries picked - grape and cranberry juice being made as we speak.

I've had an interesting day too. An invitation to view a well came through so off I went and this was the sky this morning. Is it mackerel or something more exotic? Warm and delightful to wander on this stony beach with its iconic windswept hawthorn.

The well: a beauty, surrounded by lush, jungly ferns and recently uncovered by the owners, only a fortnight into their new home. The water was clear and cold, the stone tinged red by iron. But was it holy?? No sign on the old maps or the Archaeological Inventory. But, as B said, it's our kind of thing, we were thrilled to discover it. It's holy now.
I won't argue with that!

Later I ventured out to check out another well someone had told me about. I spotted it right on the side of the main road to Glengarrif, much overgrown but full of clear water with a hawthorn growing out of it .All promising. I was just returning to my car to get the well kit when a car pulled over! It was TJ - she had recognised the bum in the air - usual well investigation pose- and was wondering what on earth I was up to so far from home! She was on her way to Kerry International(!!) airport to pick up her mum but had to do a U turn to investigate. I tidied the well up and it looked lovely and then went to inquire at the garden centre for it's run by an elderly lady who I thought might know about it. She did. Mattie, who lived in the house 30 years ago at least, used to go there to collect her water before the council put the pipes in. Damn, not holy.

Still, it's often the journey that's the thing, and listen to the tune selected - Fáinleog means wanderer and seemed rather appropriate.

And thank you for all the lovely birthday wishes from yesterday - I don't feel a jot older!!

Fáinleog

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.