Sands of time

Catching up on my reading whilst on holiday.

This novel by our fellow blipper Peter May has a particular interest for me. The protagonist is the g-g-g-grandson of a victim of forcible eviction during the 19th century highland clearances in Scotland, who eventually landed up in Canada. So am I.

A signet ring that had travelled from Scotland to Canada with the ancestor played an important part in the plot.

I also wear a signet ring, bought for me over 30 years ago and worn day in day out ever since. I chose a ring with a thistle motif because of my Scottish ancestry, in my understanding of which my evicted forbear played a prominent part.

Anyhow as we prepared to leave the beach, having almost finished the novel, I shook my hands to get rid of sand and seawater and my signet ring flew off into the sand. No way was I going to abandon it, so I spent the next 25 minutes sifting sand with my hands. I'm pleased to say it's now back on my finger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.