MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

The Great Crossing

The return voyage to Wisconsin has been great! After a good breakfast in downtown Ann Arbor with Jason, I tooled across Michigan, using backroads past Grand Rapids for a change of pace. I am about to preach the wonders of slowing down:

I passed by fields and farms, breezed through construction on the highways. I thought of stopping at some roadside produce stands, but decided against it given my refrigeration and storage capacity. But they were there with open arms- fresh peaches, corn on the cob, green peppers, farm-laid eggs. When I rolled into Muskegon, I decided I would continue with the slow-pace, local style, so I typed "food" into my gps and the first hit it through at me was a place called Mia and Grace Bistro. Upon seeing it was from-the-farm cooking, I couldn't refuse, and I couldn't have been happier with my decision.

At first I thought it was an art gallery, but peeking in the glass I could see the tables- about half full which I found surprising at 2 in the afternoon! The single menu at the front of the store was hand-printed on paper due to the shifting of supplies and meals, I would imagine. I ordered hand-made cottage cheese and chips (WITH purple potatoes!) and a pork pie- they custom-make all of their sausages and meats, as I understand. The staff was incredibly attentive and friendly, and the food was outstanding. While I ate, I envisioned a new blog- a locavore food blog. We'll see how that pans out, but for now, let me say I loved it, and I'm greatly considering never driving a freeway or eating fast food again.

The Lake Ferry Express shuttled its occupants across the southern portion of Lake Michigan, from Muskegon Harbor. It eliminated my need to drive through Chicago, but since I'm going TO Chicago, it was perhaps a strange decision. As always though, I do not regret a thing! The wind picked up with our speed, making it hard to stand on deck so after these shots, most of us retreated to the cabin to await the two hours until arrival in Milwaukee.

This blip also marks my long awaited 365th! It's taken a tremendous amount of time for me to accumulate so many posts (2 years!) And I apologize that I have been getting so wordy- I've had too much practice writing lately, but I greatly enjoy it (both the writing and the photography). Thank you blipfoto for giving me a platform to share my world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.