Freetown Christiana

A hot, sunny morning greets me. After breakfast I head to Christiana which is only a mile or so from the hotel. The entrance nestles next to a busy high school, but the "You are leaving the EU" sign I was hoping for is nowhere to be seen.

Christiana is a large piece of land near the city centre, bounded by water. There are the old military buildings, repurposed, and lots of newer, slightly ramshackle huts and houses that are silent at this time of day. The place looks really interesting - I'd like to visit at night too.

How does this place work as an independent, anarchistic area within Copenhagen? They have a colourful garbage truck - I wonder where the refuse goes. There's electricity too, but no sign of solar panels, wind turbines or atomic piles. The residents must eat, but I see scant evidence of horticulture (despite the plentiful pictures of weed). Intriguing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.