Tudor Rose

By TudorRose

Taraxacum a.k.a Dandelion

I know this image has been done to death. Swathes of beautiful colour across a field of green.

I was on a mission to collect a form from the local post office. So out I went into 23 degree sunshine to walk uphill at least its all downhill home. So midway through my sweatyness (I know there is no such word) I decided to cut across country as a short cut, I'm glad I did as this greeted me along the way. A wild field full of Dandelions as far as the eye could see. Normall in my garden I curse at these annoying weeds, but out here where I don't have to weed they were beautiful. A few sneezes later and I was back on the main road and commenced my journey.

Its great to get excited about bliping!

Interesting boring Facts

The word Dandelion comes from the French name for the plant dents de lion. This means teeth of the lion and refers to the jagged edges of the leaf of the plant.

The other French name for this plant is pis-en-lit, in English this means wet the bed. Dandelions deserve this name because their greens, when eaten, remove water from the body. So eating the greens could cause someone to well... you can guess the rest. Not recommend for a bedtime snack.

The dandelion first came from Asia but it now calls the entire planet home!

Each year fifty-five tones of coffee substitutes made from roasted Dandelion roots are sold in England, Australia and Canada.

The Dandelion provides an important food source to bees. The pollen from this plant helps bees out in the spring because it flowers early and the flowers continue through to the fall providing constant food. In fact no less then 93 different kinds of insects use Dandelion pollen as food.

The Dandelion seeds are important food to many small birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.