La vida de Annie

By Annie

Patos

I'm uneasy with boats. Never happy to get on one (maybe being a non-swimmer and compromised sense of balance accounts for it) but very happy to look at them - the wonderful shapes, colours, reflections, voluptuous lines etc. I'm also uneasy with Boaty People. With a couple of exceptions I've often found them to be arrogant, wealth-flaunting Tory voters lacking in empathy. Sweeping generalisation I know, but I'm still smarting at the comments of one of them levelled at us the other day. The lovely marina and the roads that service it, and the cleaning up of the coastal waters (many rusty old wrecks which had been deliberately scuppered were dragged out earlier in the year and taken away) are paid for out of the taxes of people like me, living in the municipality, to be enjoyed by the elite few who come out occasionally to sail their boats. I'm sure they pay hefty mooring fees and lots of other stuff to keep their vessels afloat, but they can obviously afford it.
The marina is not a private club (yet!), so a resource to be enjoyed by residents and tourists alike, either having a drink in the bar or simply, like me, drinking in the views. In a month hopefully the visitors will be gone, and we and the ducks can reclaim the tranquility of the place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.