Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Mystery "Fungi"

Day 4 of the LPH workshop saw us roaming around the Grasmere area where we where treated to some wonderful calm waters and reflections (see extras).   However, I have somehow got the reputation for taking macros and shots of fungi - thanks PaulKnowles - though to be fair, according to Blip Stats 1 in 3 blips are taken at 100mm, i.e. on my macro lens!

Anyway, back to today, the woodland had quite a lot of different fungi, so the macro lens just had to come out again. I found a lovely Russula example which made a great focus stack (extra).  However, I was intrigued by this white growth on the sodden bark of a fallen tree.  Back at base I borrowed a definitive book on fungi, but couldn't identify it. So I duly presented it at the evening's critique session in the hope that someone coud shed some light on it.  After much head scratching we wondered if they were insect eggs, and a quick google search suggested this was the most likely identification - now if only we could work out which one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.