sarah1708

By sarah1708

An Teallach

The forecast said that the day would start wet and windy - and get wetter and windier as it carried on. However, because I was with Hugo and Rory who have less caution than I do, we all decided to head up the An Teallach ridge. It’s made up of two munros followed by a big scrambling section and flat walk out. The plan was to just do the two munros and walk down - possibly even come down earlier if the wind got too scary. I was fairly aware that Hugo and Rory would to the whole thing though - boys will be boys…


The climb up was steep and not my favourite. The views were fantastic though - I have included two in my extra photos. The views at the top of the first munro were some of the best I have ever seen! However, the wind was incredibly strong and I did keep getting blown over. Heading down the first munro and onto the second led to much more getting blown over and holding onto rocks as much as possible. Hugo and Rory seemed fine though - maybe it’s because they’re heavier? Either way, I was very happy to get to the top of the second one and have the option to go down. As I thought they would, the boys headed on without me and we would meet at the car later. I ran down most of it which was really fun but I was still incredibly happy when I got back to the car and managed a rest. It only took another hour and a half for Hugo and Rory to arrive as they rushed to not keep me waiting for long. Then it was time for the long drive to St Andrews in increasingly worse conditions. I fell asleep within minutes once I got in the flat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.