West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

On the bus

Day 15
Ulaan Bator to Moron (pronounced mu roon)
Distance: approximately 770km, 14 hours

Long bus trip today. I was at the bus station as the sun rose. It was cold. The bus was due to leave at 8am and left at 8.30am. It was good to leave the city and see the Mongolian countryside in front of me. The bus wasn’t busy so there was plenty of space. I was expecting a jam-packed bus and uncomfortable journey.

The route we took wasn’t what I expected from looking at a map. But perhaps we went a longer route because the roads were better. The roads were paved the whole way. The scenery was a mixture of hills and flat valleys surrounded by more hills. The bus windows weren’t clean and this is a phone shot. Unfortunately all the places we stopped at weren’t photogenic!

My good deed for the day was making sure the bus didn’t leave behind two young German women who were so late back from one of the stops that the bus started to drive off without them. I called out that there were two people missing and pointed at their seats. A few Mongolians on the bus understood and shouted to the driver who stopped and waited for them. They were the only other foreigners on the bus.


The bus arrived at just after 10pm. I was picked up by car by the owner of the guest house I am staying at. I don’t really like arriving somewhere that late (the alternative was to take a night bus which I like even less!) so it was good to have arranged for someone meet me from the bus.

I'm uploading this on the 16th and I've added an entry for yesterday too but today's will have to wait until tomorrow as the wifi is very slow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.