Kitchen Sink Chromatography

I wanted to dye a bag so, following instructions to the letter, dissolved the powder concentrate. Named Burlesque Red, according to the packet the result ought to be a pleasant shade of purple. A few drops of water lurking at the edge of the sink caught the few grains spilled from the empty packet and the dye began to split into its constituent colours - red, yellow,and blue. 

The result was equally intriguing. I duly proceeded as planned but it became obvious that the fibre of the bag was resistant and did not take up the colours so I bunged a couple of other things in the pan to use up the dye: pink and white cotton turned out duller pink and beige, bright pink and yellow silk much the same, pale blue dyed mauve (success!) but its accents of white remained so and at the end the pan was left stained blue. 

So, I don't have a purple bag and I shall use the brown one instead..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.