1,001 books to read before you die

This might sound daft, but books can intimidate me. If I have too many lined up to read, I get this mildly panicky feeling - it feels like I'll never get them read. For this reason, I have to make sure I never buy too many books at once.

Similarly, when I see a book entitled 1,001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die it fills me with dread: it's too much like a schedule for my liking. So you can probably imagine my horror at the idea of 1,001 Classical Recordings, 1001 Golf Holes, 1,001 Paintings, 1,001 Foods, 1,001 Movies, 1,001 Gardens and 1,001 Natural Wonders all clamouring for my attention before I snuff it.

"Hey, you! Yes you, in the pushchair! It's too late for me - but if you get started on these books now, you might just stand a chance..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.