Hamey

By Hamey

Blackborough House

Today a friend and I went to the auction of "Classic Cars/Motor Bikes/Parts/Scrap" at Blackborough House, Devon which is a large, near derelict house which has been run as a scrapyard for many years. Never before have I seen such a collection of rusted vehicles and general scrap! I doubt I ever will again. Looking at Google maps satellite view it shows the place in its former state being packed with cars.
Surprisingly there would appear to be a central courtyard and we could see the roof of a vehicle which must have been some 12'/15' above ground level - how on earth did it get there? I rather liked the baby Austin 7 which did bring back some memories of a similar car which my Father had at one time in the late 1950's/early 1960's.
The house was built in 1838 by George Francis Wyndham and is a Georgian Grade 11 listed Mansion set in 11 acres but apparently was never completely finished. It was on the market for offers in excess of £750,000.00. It will require a lot more than that if it is to be restored - millions I would think! 
A fascinating building with an interesting history which can be found on Wikipedia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.