King Ottokar's Castle.

Today I spent round the local ‘castle’, it is really a fort (built by King Ottokar II) which they use as a museum and exhibition centre. Ruy told me that there was not much to it, but that there was a nice view. I went up (it is a fifteen minute walk from the front door). I walked in the door at ten and after seeing the dungeons, the archaeological dig, the long and varied career the fort had as a prison for political prisoners (French, Italian, Polish etc etc)  the exhibition showing how Brno survived a siege during the Thirty Year War, the exhibition on the development of the city from a fortified town to its modern day state, the exhibition on Brno’s TV station 55 from its inception to modern day news reporting, the exhibition on the Czech design and art movement from Bauhaus to post modern art today, plus the local kids art and painting exhibition I walked out at half past three totally exhausted to find that Saturday is half day closing. Everything shuts at one and folk all either go home or to the pub. 

I’ve found the local Tesco, and I am now going to eat pasta with bolognese sauce. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.