Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

DARLING CLEMENTINE

Harrogate has its annual arts festival on at the moment and every few years the town plays host to The Fabulous Spiegeltent, I have taken a photo before about three years ago in daylight where you can see the colours and details a lot clearer, this shot was taken around eight tonight so has taken a little twerking to make it acceptable, I was going to post the EXTRA at first but then the title wouldn't make much sense.
The last act on today, in fact the final act before it's all packed up and on its ay to the next venue, was a Country & Western Duo, now I'm not such a fan of genre although we grew up around it as my Father was rather a fanatic and like to 'Keep things Country' so I can hum many a cowboy tune, back in the 70's he started up The Peterhead Country & Western Club, no idea if it still exists, the house was awash with vinyl featuring steel guitars & Banjos, I remember going to see Billy Joe Spears at Aberdeen Playhouse, must have been 74/75, can you tell where this is going yet!
At heart I'm a Prog Rocker and I tend to turn off the radio when Whispering Bob Harris comes on (shame as he's one of my hero's from the old grey whistle test) but tonight I was impressed by the sound of MY DARLING CLEMENTINE, an English duo with that homegrown country vibe in the tradition of The Hillsiders (thats one for you little sister), well worth a listen if you have the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.