Stiperden Moor

We took a road new to us today, to reach the orienteering event on Hurstwood Moor east of Burnley.  To reach the moor road we took a right out of Hebden Bridge, up Church Lane, and wound our way up a very steep and narrow lane with tight bends, thankful that only one other car came down!  It was worth it for the views once on top of the moor with the early morning mist swirling in and out.

I should have known that crossing the border would mean tussocks!  The course was long and quite physical in places but I was happy with my run till I reached download to discover I had mispunched!  I cannot recall the last time I mispunched at an event, if ever.  I missed out a control once in a frantic run around an Edinburgh housing estate, but punching the wrong control?!  It seems Judith had made the same error too and, on closer inspection, it was two controls close together on similar features with similar numbers (I should have punched 114 and I actually punched 144).  Really cross with myself because I would have been in second place, ah well it was good exercise in a lovely setting with fine views.

This blip was taken early morning en route to the event out of the car window with the last few swirls of mist.  We stopped on the way back but by then the sky was blown out and hazy.  I can't get worked up by windfarms, I think they often add to the landscape and, in answer to one chap today who was quite accusatory, I would not mind them in my backyard!  Certainly not if Stiperden Moor was my backyard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.