Hillman

Up early and I headed to the hills for a wee journey.

On the bike at 6.30am, the midges making sprint off. As I cycled along the land rover track, I passed though clouds of midge and they got stuck in the air vents of my helmet and they ate my scalp the little beasties.

Dumped the bike and headed up the first hill, I followed deer track through the heather onto the boggy moor. Nothing of any note wildlife wise and another day of silence.

First summit bagged and then over to the next via a river crossing. Again no wildlife but a passing fighter jet destroyed the silence on the summit.

I headed down through a corrie of little hummocks and long heather.

A stunning waterfall with a wee hut beside it for shelter. Just after this I met Stephen Pern.

I asked him where he had come from, 'Hastings, I started walking in March'. Bloody amazing he has walked up the west coast via islands as well, staying in bothies. He added Orkney at the north end and is now heading back down the eastern part of the country finishing in Hastings.

Quite a journey and one of the few people I have met on the hills while on holiday. I handed over a blip card and gave him my address for his Edinburgh part of his journey. His notebook had tiny writing detailing his thoughts of his trip.

Said my good byes as he headed south as I went east. Back on the bike and a sprint out on a very good track. Near the end I got stopped by a couple of German tourists asking for the Lake, they were happy with my 10 min reply.

Back to the house and we had arranged to meet up with an old pal. It was great catching up and he had a call about a calving heifer. We headed out and he needed our help. We caught the cow and he had to help calve her. A cracking male calf born alive and healthy.

Eco son had some tractor driving instructions, thanks very much.

A brilliant day.

18123



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.