Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A special place

Ok, this is pure chocolate-box, but it's the view I have known for all of my sentient life - the hills above Glen Rosa, on the Isle of Arran, from Brodick pier. Today I was on Arran for all of two hours, leaving the PS Waverley to cruise round Holy Isle, a short visit that seemed all the more precious for being transient.

The sky over Arran was covered in thin cloud when we landed, but by the time we'd walked a mile or so round the bay to the beach I always regarded as "our" beach, the sky was clearing, and when we arrived back at the pier to wait for Waverley it looked like this.

If you're interested, the triangular peak on the left is Beinn Nuis, and to the right of that you can make out Beinn Tarsuinn and Beinn a' Chliabhain. The three peaks form a marvellous horseshoe which make for a great day out, and I have rarely seen them looking better.

All in all, we were out for 11 hours today - we didn't disembark in Dunoon till 8.30pm, and headed straight for the Bangla Tandoori in John Street - I recommend that as a great place to finish a day at sea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.