asm929

By asm929

Big feet

I think this is a nuthatch, stopping by to try out the remains of the seed ball that was hanging on the feeder. I was a bit surprised at the size of his feet.

I was doing some housework and Mr M had taken Riley for a walk. Next thing I knew, he was coming in the house in a hurry, telling me to get my camera. So I grabbed it and followed him. He and Riley had been walking in the fields and heard some kind of squawking. He saw two cranes, immediately redirected Riley, and came for me with my camera. By the time we got back to them, they were no longer making any noise, but I recognized right away that it was the two sandhill cranes I've been seeing for about a year (recently blipped here). I couldn't get very good shots because they were pretty far away and I didn't want to spook them, but here they are in the extra shot, since Mr M went to so much trouble to get me and my camera there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.