TINY TUESDAY - FOOTPRINTS IN THE SAND

I’m sure most people know the verse Footprints in the Sand - and this morning when I was looking through the little box of promises a friend gave me for my birthday last year, I was reminded of it.  

I will be thinking of some special friends today, who are going through a very difficult time and praying that the God who has carried me through many difficult and traumatic times will also carry them.

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord. 
Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.

In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand. 
Sometimes there were two sets of footprints, 
other times there was one only.

This bothered me because I noticed that 
during the low periods of my life, 
when I was suffering from anguish, sorrow or defeat, 
I could see only one set of footprints, so I said to the Lord,

“You promised me Lord, that if I followed you, 
you would walk with me always. 
But I have noticed that during the most trying periods of my life 
there has only been one set of footprints in the sand. 
Why, when I needed you most, have you not been there for me?”

The Lord replied, 
“The years when you have seen only one set of footprints, 
my child, 
is when I carried you.”

Mary Stevenson, 1936

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.