If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

AIra Force

After my now habitual visit to the studio for a cuppa and a chat I decided as it was a lovely afternoon I needed some exercise so I headed for Aira Force.  I have frequently blipped shots of the "Upper Cascades" which were a favourite of mine.  Since the NT decided to put in a pay and display car park, footpath a bit akin to a motorway and a bridge you could drive a truck over I have rather gone off them.

Thinking that the school holidays were over and it would be quieter I decided to visit the main falls.  Quieter!  I am glad I wasn't there when it was busy, I had to queue to get across the bridges.

I decided on this shot because the wide angle shows both the full length of the 70 foot falls (21.25 m )and the steep stair case that has been laid to allow visitors to get down to the bottom.  This shot doesn't show it but there is space about halfway down for 2 or 3 people to stop and allow others to pass.  I don't know if they realise that below there feet is a long drop!  The platform is cantilevered out from the rock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.