Memories…

At the library this morning, our poetry discussion led us to talking about our favourite school hymns. Instantly I was transported back to my old school and could see myself stood in the hall, leading assembly, with the children singing Cauliflowers Fluffy, their all-time favourite hymn, and mine!

Keeping those memories alive, I took a slightly different route home and walked passed the school where I used to teach. On its 150th birthday, this lovely Victorian “village” school was closed, all in the name of progress, and it has now been converted into homes. The conversion has won awards and has actually been done very tastefully. Somehow they’ve managed to cram eight homes into what was once a two classroom school building, with a further five houses taking the place of a third terrapin classroom in the playground! My old classroom is now two houses!!

The tall windows that you can see used to be part of the hall, and must have witnessed oh so many renditions of Cauliflowers Fluffy! I wouldn’t mind a penny for every time I’ve walked through those school gates…


(Not the highest quality photo. When uploading my blip today I realised that I’d set the camera on a very low quality setting last week and had forgotten to change it back. Oops!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.