SherriM

By SherriM

“Tiny” Canebrake Rattlesnake

I know he may look huge, but he’s actually a tiny baby Canebrake Rattlesnake I found in my garden pond.  He was actually in the water (who knew they could swim?) and I snapped this when he came out.  I actually didn’t know what kind of snake he was...I’ve heard of copperheads in the vicinity, though we’ve not seen anything but black racers, corn and bull snakes here around the house, and since he was obviously a viper I assumed that’s what he was, or maybe a Cottonmouth since he was in the water.  

It took nearly 2 hours online to identify him.  The rust colored stripe down his back is one of the primary markings, along with the chevron markings and the black stripe on the sides of his face.  Canebrake’s are in the Timber Rattlesnake family, and OMG, of the 4 vipers that live in TN they are supposed to be the most poisonous. Oh joy. 

Needless to say I’m not too thrilled to know that where there are babies, Momma and Daddy aren’t far away.  From what I read, the babies are born 10-13 inches long...this little guy measured 14”, so was probably fresh out of the nest.  Gives me a very oogy feeling, to say the least.  I’m pretty easy going when it comes to friendly snakes--don’t love them but willing to co-exist--but rattlers in the yard?  I don’t think so.  

Anyway, since he was so tiny, I thought he’d may a good subject for my first Tiny Tuesday entry!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.