For the love of....

cakes, perhaps. Last morning of my Estonian language class. As usual I had a pre-class caffeine shot with a cappuccino in the Werner Kohvik in Ülikooli street. They have a fabulous range of cakes. These ones caught my eye, not for the tasting (I resisted) but as they matched the theme of the week - love (film festival, kissing students, etc.).

My favourite Estonia cakes are the ones made with kohupiim, a word that is hard to translate, since people use variously curd, or cottage cheese or quark. It's not really any of the three. You certainly can't say cheese cake since the cakes are nothing like the British or American style cheesecakes. You really have to get on a plane or boat and come to Estonia to taste for yourself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.