Mission Accomplished

Today I went on a geocaching expedition down to Shropshire with four targets in mind. The first and most important was to drop off a trackable in a specific cache at Hopesay near Craven Arms.

A trackable is an item with a unique code which is transported from cache to cache by geocachers. The code can be used to track its movement around the world. Many owners give their trackable a specific goal e.g. to visit caches near castles and ask for a photo to be taken. I have a travel bug which I release in Costa Rica in 2004 and it has now travelled a total of 82,000 miles and is in Hungary. I hope to get it back one day. 

In this case my caching friend had picked up a trackable in Thailand and handed it over to me. It had been released in Australia in 2014 and its aim was to find its way back to a cache called Iron Age Series - Power House - Hopesay Common. The owners live in Australia but this had been their first geocache find and the ironman pictured came from here.

I was pleased to drop this off at its intended location and afterwards I went on a walk up Brown Clee Hill, the highest point in Shropshire to find some more caches. Sadly it was very misty on top so the view wasn't so good today. At least I succeeded in all my geocaching goals.

My extra is a vapourer moth. Kwdiane thought this should be by main picture but I wasn't completely happy with it as it was very blustery on top and I struggled to get the composition and focus right. Nevertheless it is a fascinating insect that looks like a very small mouse with a fancy cape and very strange ears. I realise it is probably a lot more interesting to most people than my main picture .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.