Trucker Talk

After sleeping in this morning I walked over to where the birds are and snapped a photo of this female red wing black bird enjoying the sunshine...

In the states we have a snack call Cracker Jacks. Caramel popcorn, peanuts and a cheezy toy... (at least while I grew up I hear they took the toy out) 

So finally given a door at my destination and after watching this fellow try and back in with 100 acres to do so I flipped a U-turn and blindsided in the first time.. 

This prompted the driver who was watching me come over and say "you been out here to many years haven't you" A wide smile came over me.. We watch for another 30 minutes while this poor fellow just couldn't hit the broadside of a barn today.. I had to add he must of gotten his license out of a cracker jack box which got a chuckle..

Generally there are three reason when you have a 100 acres to back in and you can't do it.
1. You are having a very bad day.. All of us do sometimes
2. You are a rookie and still learning 
3. Somebody made a mistake and gave you a license and you shouldn't be out here...

Yes several drivers offered to help him but he kept saying no.. So after the tires stopped rolling and the brakes were set we found out this is his first month out on his own and as many companies do.. they don't train drivers, they use people as a team and you learn on the job... 

After I went to school for 4 weeks I passed the written tests (more than one) the first time. The Driving test the second time (I missed two signs I passed on the road and parallel parking). The rest was learned on the job. Kurt (R.I.P) my trainer/co-driver had been driving for 30 years.. He taught the old school ways.. Part of it was having a cup of water 3/4 full.. If you spilled it you were doing something wrong..  and....

I don't where I am going but I know where I've been....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.