gavinclinch

By gavinclinch

A singer must die

I've had this old singer sewing machine for about 20 years. It's been lying dormant in the attic for the past 15 and has rusted in places but is still a thing of great beauty. The Kilbowie factory in Clydebank produced millions of these babies. Isn't that right Highjinx?

I'm going to leave it here for the new owners.

" Now the courtroom is quiet, but who will confess
Is it true you betrayed us? The answer is "yes"
Then read me the list of the crimes that are mine
I will ask for the mercy that you love to decline
And all the ladies go moist, and the judge has no choice a singer must die for the lie in his voice
And I thank you, I thank you for doing your duty
You keepers of truth, you guardians of beauty
Your vision is right, my vision is wrong
I'm sorry for smudging the air with my song"
L. Cohen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.