What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Yo Camino Solo

Except you don't ever walk alone on the Camino really, but I should explain...

After a valiant effort (considering the multiple continents he's been walking across already this year and, let's face it, some bloody awful weather at the start), Owen, my compatriot on the Camino has flown back to England to get some proper rest and recover from his wanderings!

This now leaves me wandering the Camino solo, but it's already a long way from that. I fell in with a crowd of Canadians early on today and walked with them most of the day, only splitting up when I chose the option to visit St. Eunates church on a sidetrack, ending up with some Brazilians and a South African, only to promptly lose them all at the end of the day in Puente la Reina. Planning on finding the Canadians again, I've instead had a grand American-Israeli-British dinner with two of my dorm mates and some other pilgrims they'd let earlier!

While I'm not going I find myself alone Owen's departure is going to lead to some new quandaries - will I walk at speed and meet the daily ends now, or will I go slower? Is the Finisterre/Muxia loop still my end goal or am I going to be happy with just Santiago?

Stay tuned!

Today's alternate is a shot of Tom, one of the Canadians, also pulling a solo move, on the busiest peak of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.