IainCloke

By IainCloke

The proximity of deep waters

I'm in Sheffield and this isn't today but my mind has been on deep waters, journeys to the edge and choosing life. This snap is from a recent trip to the north shore of Holy Island.
I love being by the ocean, somehow either because of or in spite of the big skies, open spaces and deep oceans, I always experience a great sense of Gods presence, of being known from the inside out. Maybe the intimacy of bare feet in the cool ebb and flow of northern tides, the oozing of waterlogged sand between toes and the salty sting of ocean breeze, enliven ones senses.
But I think also it is the proximity of deep waters and the call to step out once again in faith. The deep salty ocean waters close to shore offer buoyancy, a feeling of being held safely despite the depths. I'm a strong swimmer but no water-walker and there is danger in the depths, strong currents and rip tides, quick moving sea storms could easily overwhelm.
In the midst of loss and the feelings of grief that follows, I am finding the proximity and the call of deep waters. Both in the sense of journeying deep inwardly, of being soaked in sadness, of being swept away on a tide of tears; but also the call to new life and journeying deeply into new awareness of myself, of taking a risk to hope that dawn will come and light will break and I won't feel guilty for smiling.
Thank you to those who stand with me on the seashore as an act of love or friendship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.