The city and the volcano

Felt really on edge when I arrived at the hospital this morning. A persistent beeping by the car that my seat belt was not engaged eventually got to me. This started Wednesday night, and I thought I had resolved it. Yesterday morning it persisted but did stop after a minute or two, only to restart if I did anything. I took the car to the Nissan people who agreed that there was a problem and they would need to order a new stalk from Japan. On the way home yesterday, the beeping stopped after a minute and didn't recur. Same when I took J to the airport. Then this morning it didn't stop. Bliss tonight as it seemed to be normal from the beginning, only to disconnect 30 s from home. I can manage that!

Today has been the last day of this current locum, and I have three weeks not working. I then return to the same position for another two and a half months; until 31 December. We will have a holiday away with C and the boys. Looking forward to that.

That did make today at work longer and harder than most Fridays even. As I had to sort out a number of things. I was able to ask my registrar to see a couple of families while I saw others. She is good and the reports from the nurses are pleasing. 

This (the only photo taken today) was taken from the car during a brief stop on the motorway heading towards the Harbour Bridge. Maungawhau (Mount Eden) is the volcanic cone behind the Sky Tower

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.