Floral Fantasy

Frantic day filming, photoshooting and media prepping for the Festival of Flowers opening day tomorrow. From the moment I arrived at the Castle at 8am - to supervise a time lapse camera installation - to the moment I left 12 hours later, I barely paused for breath.

The fragrance and beauty of the flowers adorning the Castle rooms was captivating, while the colourfully creative designs and historical inspirations on 'A Queen's Castle' theme was breathtaking.

These poisoned chalices decorate the spiral staircase depicting the battle of Badlesmere in 1321. Beautiful yet poignant.

A fantastical tea party featuring cakes and Lady Baillie's finest China tea cups from the 1930s add a hint of Wonderland in a 'Whimsical Woodland' design in the Queen's Gallery. Anything Alice themed wins my affections as always! I'd love to recreate this one day for a party.

The mist rolling across the moat early this morning reminded me of nature's beauty and as the day wore on the floral designers showed me just how they've harnessed this beauty through flowers and have truly captured the heart of the Castle.

My only wish is the creations capture the hearts of the media and VIP visitors tomorrow too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.