knit 1 girl 1

By knit1girl1

Portencross to Hunterston and back

It's been a great day.
I decided that today would be the day for the bike ride I've been meaning to do with Thom all summer. Thom made a checklist to make sure we had everything (including bikes) and we packed the car and headed off to Portencross. This is a bit of a cheat but I knew we wouldn't manage the hills back to the house.
The weather was fantastic. Sunny blues skies and warm with clear views. We headed off from Portencross and followed the coast path to Hunterston power station. I really wanted to take some pics of the power station and of the bubbling water where the outflow goes into the sea, but the lovely civil nuclear police kept driving past so I thought best not.
We then headed into Hunterston estate and stopped for a snack next to this cool tree. Then off again to Thirdpart Holdings before back to the car. I then let Thom do some rock pooling at the beach by the car park. It was really good and great rocky views.
I used a running app on my phone to track our progress and we'd done nearly 12km. I'm so proud of my wee boy as he did it all happily and was a bit tired by the time we reached the car. He had a great time and I've got grand mummy dreams of him winning 7 cycling gold medals one day.
After having a week of not much in the way of inspiring photos I've had loads today and had to get rob to help choose, so the tree won.
Rest of the afternoon has been spent chilling with a bit of knitting, which I really need to do some more of now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.