2+3+1+1

By tpd

himself again

There appear to have been a lot of shots of the cat this week; a sure sign that it's been a full-on week.

I caught 10 minutes of Dr. No on the telly this evening about 5 minutes before I fell asleep on the sofa and noticed a detail I'd never paid attention to before: there's a scene, just before meeting Dr. No when Honey and Bond hold hands:

Honey Ryder: I'm glad your hands are sweating too.
James Bond: Of course, I'm scared too.

Scared? The infallible Bond? The books are definitely better in this respect; they show the weaknesses of Bond and show him as a normal person who eats and drinks too much, is bored by his desk job, skives off and is always unfit before his missions.

Distracted driving: on the north circular this morning and filtering as usual as the traffic was fairly slow; I notice a van in the righthand lane alongside an artic, weaving gently within his lane. No problem: just position myself so that the van driver can see me in his wing mirror and wait. The upside of this is that I can also see the driver and see what he's doing: eating his breakfast! He had a bowl of cereal and fruit on his lap, was looking down at the bowl and chopping away at the fruit while drifting along in very heavy stop/go traffic. Knob. So, quick toot on the horn to let him know I'm there: no reaction. Lean on the horn a bit more: no reaction. At this point I'm wondering what will be required to get the guy to look up. Lean on the horn some more until eventually he looks up, sees me, takes hold of the steering wheel again and I pass, determined to put as much distance between me and him as possible. Unreal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.