Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Michaelmas fete at St Cross

Today I went to the Michaelmas fete at St Cross (full title: Hospital of St Cross and Almshouse of Noble Poverty, ie for those of you who don't know Winchester it's not a hospital!).  There were stalls selling lovely craftwork and homemade food, both inside and out.

I wanted to show you this shot because then you get a peep at part of the magnificent medieval building from the inside.  St Cross is the oldest charitable institution in the UK and the largest medieval almshouse in Britain.  It's an absolute gem.  If I have my geography right, this is the brothers' dining hall.

The girl sitting under the window, Natalia, was exhibiting her craftwork for the first time.  I thought it was lovely, though when I checked her website I was slightly bemused to find it all in Russian (there is a button to switch it English - phew!).  I may have just solved some of my Christmas present list.

For those of you who prefer colour, I've put in an Extra because it made me laugh - I mean a man must keep his dependents in order!

I am very sorry to say I've turned off my comments for a few days.  Nothing is wrong apart from tiredness mixed with busy-ness (a bad combination).  I will of course continue to look at your journals and sprinkle hearts and stars..

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and talk soon  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.