SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Kings Well

near Crosby Ravensworth

I wouldn't begin to presume what freespiral thinks but I hope she might be a little impressed by my well hunting exploits today. I wasn't sure what to do with myself but felt inclined to strike out over a long section of lonely moor and this well had been nagging away at me since my last entry for International Holy Wells Month and I have had a couple of aborted attempts at it. I hope it is ok to tag it IHWM as the seed for its appearance here today began back then.

It took at little bit of freespiral spirit to get there. No GPS ... but just the usual culprits ... map study, uncertainty, a bit confused and lost, rusty barbed wire negotiations, boggy ground, dodgy walls, sheep, cows, a dodgy looking bull, worries of farmer buckshot up the rear end, and, classically sadly, no nurturing or reverence to be seen (although, I suppose it isn't holy as such...there does not appear to be any saints involved in the making of this well). It is thought it might be part of a very ancient area of settlement, possibly the site of hill fort and celtic leader. There is a little information here and it is close to the Black Dub monument at the source of the River Lyvennet. On the way I walked part of the Roman Wicker Street and was struck by the large shap granite boulders that appeared to mark the route.

I headed over to my friend's and heard the news of Corbyn's win as I drove down following the Lyvennet. It's good to follow these lay lines one way or another to anchor disorientation - a week on another voyage at sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.