Life through the lens...

By ValC

Bygones.

Not sure why I chose this for my blip today.
Had beautiful photos of rivers,waterfalls,meadows,churches, but this was hiding in the doorway of an old barn, full of hay, and it just took me back to the past, and how the countryside of the Yorkshire Dales hasn't really changed that much.

I'm not quite sure what it is for. May be someone on blip may know?
I will also ask my farming friends next time I see them.

What a beautiful day.
We walked from the little village a West Burton (off the beaten track, and one I had not visited before) Over the fields to Aysgarth. Lunch at the George and Dragon. (supposed to be a sandwich, but ended up having braised steak, truffle mash,roasted parsnips, fresh peas, cauliflower,broccoli and a pint of shandy!)
Then walked back along the river, past the falls, and across the fields back to the car.
Was a bit more than the 4 miles it said! Also didn't mention a hill we had to cilmb!
But we all enjoyed it although the couple we went with said they aren't doing one of my difficult walks if that was an easy one!

The countryside was at it's Summers best.
Farmers busy haymaking, and harvesting the wheat.
The cows and sheep out in the meadows.Rich green grass.
Lovely sparkling rivers. After the rain the water was rushing and tumbling over the falls.
Everywhere wild flowers in the fields and hedgerows.
We saw a little owl, and ( A. thought) an osprey. (looking at the book could have been a juvenile honey buzzard. I didn't get a very good look)

This week has flown. Olympics nearly over. (Back to normal soon!)
Hope you all have a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.