The Old Winch, at Boulder Bay

I've had a 'try-out' this afternoon. My backpack (discovered again after shifting back into the house) was filled with what I'd need for a weekend's tramp, I hefted it onto my back and walked from Taylors Mistake, around the coast (quite a few ups & downs) to Boulder Bay. I felt fine when I got back to the car, after my 7km walk, and am hoping that I really will get to do a weekend tramp, sometime in the not too distant future.

This winch was used in the past to help drag boats up the beach, over the stones. It's an unforgiving part of the coast, the stones are heavy and round, and I'm sure there would have been times when some mechanical help would have been very much needed. It's an attractive old piece of machinery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.