La vida de Annie

By Annie

Cielo sobre Coves Noves

Rumbling thunder and a few distant lightning flashes during the AGM of the Residents Association this morning. The volcanically-strong coffee at the start ensured I didn't nod off, and I must be getting old as I didn't find it quite  as boring as usual. Close though. This was taken on a solitary walk around the resort where the meeting had been held. The tourists have lessened dramatically - lots of pram-pushers, and a few young couples stoically lying on the cloudy beach, but most of the hugely-overweight tourists on the all-inclusive hotel deals seemed to have waddled off home. It's quite sad in a way - although I hate the crowds, this place is gradually dwindling into the ghost-town it becomes in Winter, with shops and bars shuttered and not a soul to be seen. The beach furniture will be taken in (great!) and all the annually-replenished paintwork will start to flake and fade on all the buildings. I enjoyed visiting here when the family were staying in the resort last month, and liked the feeling that they were 10 minutes away even when I didn't see them. If I had stayed in the UK they wouldn't have been that close. Maybe I should find an excuse for a visit over there before the end of the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.