Oops!

I was supposed to do this on Saturday but I forgot about it. Oh well, better late than never. The second of my very occasional series of brochures from concerts I have been to. This was from 24th September, 1988; Jean-Michel Jarre's Destination Docklands concert. Absolutely out of this world, despite the rain. Like Numan, I have been a big fan of Jarre since the age of ten. I can still remember clearly when I first heard his music, Oxygene, drifting down from the bedroom window of my best friend's older brother. I had never heard music like that before, ever, and I thought it was incredible, like music from outer space. I remember watching Jarre's Rendezvous Houston broadcast live on BBC2 and being blown away by it, especially as it was broadcast simultaneously on Radio 1 so I could listen to it in stereo (a big deal in those days.) While Destination Docklands was not quite as spectacular as that, I imagine, it was still pretty awesome. Now, on his latest brilliant CD, The Heart Of Noise, Jarre collaborates with, among other incredible artists, Gary Numan! So glad I could live to see that!

Destination Docklands

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.