The Budapest Cafe Orchestra

I saw this group were playing nearby and thought I remembered Blipper Snapper saying if you got a chance to see them do - so I did! I gathered the usual suspects but Friend decided not to come at the last minute as she had a trip the next day to deepest, darkest Cornwall and a one day trip to the Isles of Scilly and needed to conserve her energy. So off I set with  Nellie of the Woods and Colourful Mai  in the pouring rain! Vegan Jo, her friend Wannabe In Calstock and Circus Girl would meet us there and Friends girls and one of their partners decided at the last minute to go, they were concerned at leaving Friend but actually I know she would have appreciated some quiet time on her own. 
Well St Endellion Church just looked gorgeous lit up in the dark. It is famous for several reasons, Betjeman wrote about it and has his own Angel there, it holds music festivals, and David Cameron named his daughter after the saint when she was born there whilst they were on holiday - but I won't hold that against the place!
Even if the music had been bad I would have enjoyed it as the church was just a delight - as I was taking photos at the end a man who introduced the group came up and told me it was built in the 15th Century but the columns date from the 13th. I just loved the angels/saints along the carved beams either side of the Nave. 
So, the Orchestra - they were wonderful! Not from Russia but London they played with love, flair and skill. I loved the piece  based on their playing in Mull, and was entertained by their renditions of The Teddybears picnic, The Archers and Poldark - although could have done with less of such pieces. The violinist gave the introductions to each piece and other information but the The Sultan who played the saz, guitar, balalaika, gave an amusing little talk too! As it was in a church it was a no dancing affair - but we all stood and swayed gently the entire time!
At the interval we walked round the outside of the church and through the carpark to the hall for drinks. I sneaked back to take more photos! I cannot seem to turn off the sound on my camera, only soften it, so had to take photos when they were not playing so as not to disturb people - I did fire off a few near the end though! As the second half continued the rain outside made competing noise and I thought the journey back would be interesting. 
The journey back was hell! So much surface water! I went slow so to see the pools of water in advance and take avoidance manoeuvres, but one giant pool I missed and oh my life! It was like going through a flume ride! Water was thrown up high either side of the car and in front and for several seconds visibility was gone - nothing but water splashage! I just kept cool and hoped nothing was coming the other way - to have braked would have been madness! I went even slower after this much to the annoyance of one driver who beeped and flashed his lights at me - just as another car was coming towards us! Total cretin. I took no notice and a little later he and several other cars overtook me! Madness. We arrived home safe and sound and actually didn't take much longer than the hours journey there.
Flickr set of dubious quality here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.