Monomonday: cultural

I guess the top shelf on this one of my bookshelves represents a certain, traditional view of literary culture, one that recent governments have been keen to see reinstalled as THE accepted canon of literature on the Englsh curriculum in schools (although I suspect they might not be too keen on the 20th C American novelists or writers like David Storey.

Many of these date from my university course back in the 70s and are still amongst my favourite novels, but I think it will be doing our children a great disservice if teachers are forced to present such a traditional canon as the only literature worth studying.

I'm currently enjoying Sebastian Faulks' "Where My Heart Used To Beat"

A rainy day of everyday tasks made it a suitable day for indoor blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.