JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Pride Park Stadium

I am a fan of many sports including football, cricket and golf, but all these sports have paled into insignificance during the fantastic London Olympic Games.

I have barely noticed the current series between the world's top two ranked test cricket nations. I have hardly glanced at the final golf major of the year being played this weekend in the US. Though I watched a little of football in the Olympics I find it hard to take it seriously as an Olympic sport, and I haven't given any thought to the approach of the domestic football season.

So I was a little surprised when I realized this week that the season starts tomorrow. To mark the occasion, my blip is of Derby County's stadium at Pride Park which is very close to the office where I work in Derby.

I am not a fan of Derby by the way and have never watched a match at this ground. I did once watch my team, Southend United, play in Derby, but that was at the splendidly named Baseball Ground which was replaced by Pride Park in 1997.

The bronze statue in the bottom of the picture is of Brian Clough and Peter Taylor who managed the club during its most successful years between 1967 and 1973.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.