A bold dunnock in the garden

I spotted four goldfinches vying with a bullfinch for the prime spot on the sunflower feeder this afternoon. The heavily overcast sky didn't encourage photography but I suddenly wanted to sit in the cabin with my camera waiting for whatever happened.

I refilled with sunflowers and topped up the peanuts in the adjacent feeder both of which hang beneath our rhus tree. For a long time there were few visits at all, but gradually a nuthatch swooped in several times as well as a couple of tits, a robin and a male blackbird. Helena popped out to see me when she returned home which turned the tide as soon afterwards several longtailed tits and two goldfinches hopped on and off the feeder but only stayed briefly.

This dunnock started out in the thick hedge behind the tree before becoming more adventurous and perching n the rhus branches and the trunk. Then it hopped down to the ground and up onto this old pot lying beneath the feeders. I like seeing it as it is rather a private bird, although I wonder about its safety with all the cats about. Having just woken up from his midday sleep Bomble came out to see me soon after I took this shot, but I expect the bird is quite canny. I wonder if I could get it to feed from my hand?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.