TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

A Puzzlement

I went back to the lake today.  Now the weather has improved I decided I would do this daily until I can ride my bike again.  The magpies are swooping at the moment and my Lovely Man is being attacked on a daily basis, so I have opted out. People become very innovative about how to ward these nesting birds off, but I'm not convinced.  So, back to the lake.  The puzzlement for me today was how so many people were going to fit into this tiny sailing boat.  They were all standing on the jetty contemplating something, but were all obviously involved with the sailing craft.  As I walked around a bit further I noticed a tall mechanism on the jetty beside the boat and then I worked it out.  This was the Shepparton Sailability team learning how to use this new resource specifically designed to lift people who were wheelchair bound into the boat. Sailability is a worldwide organisation (although it does operate under a different name in some countries). They are a not for profit organisation and volunteer based who, through the activity of sailing enriches the lives of people of all abilities - including the elderly and socially disenfranchised, but especially those with physical disabilities.  Several members of our U3A work with this group once a week throughout the summer months. Volunteers continue to make such a difference in people's lives. The extra is of the little boat sailing happily on the lake with its newly installed passenger.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.