Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

One Little Streak in the Sky

My early night last night was rudely interrupted, first by a bee that decided to get in bed with me and then by a mouse. Not the computer mouse but a real live little brown thing that the dogs chased around my room for half an hour. The dam thing escaped us all so I now have a trap set in every corner. I don't mind mice as long as they are outside and not nesting in my clothes!

It was after midnight when I went to the window, saw the stars in the sky and remembered the date. One of the annual Perseid meteor shower nights.

Tonight is predicted to be the best for seeing them. If you get a chance, any time after midnight, should be the best time to see them, with or without a camera. They expect between 60 and 90 trails an hour over this coming night. I was up until well after 2am but only got this one faint meteor in the sky. You'll have to go large to see it!

My view from here is the worst so I can't expect to see much. I have to look straight into the light pollution from London! I decided not to risk waiting for cloud cover tonight. They will fall before midnight but seemingly only at half rate but enough for the kids to see them. I just hope you have clear skies

The further you are from light pollution the better a view will be. Go outside in an unlit area, with a deck chair, blanket and a thermos. Let your eyes accustom to the dark for 20 minutes then look into the sky above and to the left of the crescent moon with Jupiter shining below it. Enjoy the spectacle! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.