What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Luz de Cañas

As mentioned in yesterday's Blip there was an option on today's path, involving a detour from the main Camino to a side route that took in the village of Cañas and the Cistercian Abbey that can be found there.

I wasn't sure this morning if I would, but after a hearty breakfast in Azofra, I decided to go down the route (remembering also the fresh advice from last night's pilgrims). From the Blip, hopefully you can see it was worth it.

The Abbey has no glass windows, they are all alabaster, so all that comes in through them is light (luz) and apart from the main altar that's all there is. It's a beautiful place, and was worth the extra road walk to get to.

Today's bonus pics are the sunrise through the hills of Nájera and a typical farmscape from when I rejoined the main path in the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.