Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Stripes

Three years ago today I spent seventeen hours at Addenbrookes hospital, having taken my husband there in the early hours of the morning; I expected to come home without him. So as this is his anniversary we decided to go to Cambridge for the day, even though the weather was supposed to be wet. As it happens it rained as we drove there and while we were on the Park and Ride bus, but the rest of the time, despite some dark clouds, the sun shone.
 
We had various stops for coffee and went to the University Centre for lunch. I was complaining loudly that I was fed up with the same one dish on the menu that I could eat and no suitable potatoes (potatoes in cafés and restaurants are frequently coated in flour) when the lady who now runs the restaurant section, suggested that they cook something for me. I suggested the salmon, which they had on the menu, but which had breadcrumbs on it. In the end they cooked Hake for me, with new potatoes and sweetcorn; all the salmon waiting to be cooked, already had the coating on it. I have never eaten Hake before; it was quite nice.

Today’s picture is of the stripes on the lawn in front of King’s College and King’s College Chapel with the huge Horse Chestnut tree and The Senate House in the background. Unfortunately the tree looks as though it has started to succumb, in places, to the dreaded new disease, which is attacking the Horse Chestnut trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.