Islandman

By StephenS

Signs!

Some people have asked me if I have had any signs, meaning signs from Shiv. 
These are my thoughts.
Shiv's family from Dublin had always kept Yorkshire Terriers, and her mum and dad had one when I first met her. I promised her that we would get one when we were retired.
The day after the funeral we went for a walk along the coastal path where we would often holiday. The weather was miserable and no one other than ourselves was about, when along came a little Yorkie! 
Co-incidence? 
Another time my sister was visiting and she said that there was a magpie pecking by our patio door. I said 'that'll be Siobheann'. She looked at me as though I had finally gone mad, but I had never noticed this magpie before. It's always on its own, the others are in pairs. Sometimes it would swoop into our garden and peck the rabbit's food through the wire mesh of its hutch. 
So are these devices that we employ so that we don't forget the person that we have lost? I don't know.
But there are other things too. 
I had started to see Siobheann in the girls, physical resemblances that I hadn't noticed before, and I thought that maybe it was because I was still looking for her, I was still in denial.
But of course Shiv's there, she's in the girls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.