world in a grain of sand

By kateann

scabious

One of my favourite flowers (is it ok to have favourite flowers, or is that like having favourite children?), especially when it's growing wild. These were on the Saltway, a path which became a drovers' road, between the salt mines of Droitwich and the populous places of Princes Risborough and around. It's "unimproved limestone grassland" as the information board says, which means it's full of knapweed, clover, scabious and other things I didn't recognise.
We were walking from home to Charlbury, and got the bus back, for which I was grateful as a nagging pain I have had in my heel escalated, and I finished up with pain pretty much all up the leg.
A shame because I had my best swim of the summer this morning. I always swim more when I can do it outdoors. You never know when this swim is going to come, but it's great when it does - the water begins to feel like your element, maybe only for a length or two - but it's a wonderful feeling. I suppose it's swimming mindfully - you're just aware of how your body moves through the water, the feel of the water on you and the glint of the sun on the bubbles. Blissful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.