West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Lighting up

I watched this old woman struggling to walk across the main square in Ulan Bator. She got to the middle, sat down and lit a cigarette. She's wearing a traditional Mongolian coat.

This morning I finally closed the chapter of the saga of a Chinese visa and accepted that my overland journey is over. I can't get a train to China, or even go to China. 

The visa processing centre in London didn't have any available appointments before I started my trip so I decide I'd get the visa in Mongolia. When I arrived here I found out that the Chinese embassy had changed their rules one week earlier and no longer accepted visa applications from non-Mongolians unless they were resident in Mongolia. While I was in the Gobi I talked to someone who said they knew someone who got a Chinese visa last week. So I went back to check again today. The embassy is closed for a Chinese national holiday until the 10th October. My Mongolian visa expires on the 9th. 

So South Korea will be my next destination. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.